Julie Devereaux

Weekdays 10:00am - 2:00pm

Some of classic rock’s biggest names are one step closer to being inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Alice Cooper, John Mellencamp and the Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde are among the typically varied nominees for the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s class of 2018.

The three were nominated along with Mariah CareyN.W.A., Tom Waits, Kool & the Gang, Tracy Chapman, the Isley Brothers, reggae icon Jimmy Cliff and country stars Alan Jackson and Tom T. Hall on the ballot, with voting running through December 17.

The induction ceremony will take place on June 14 in New York City.

Also nominated were non-performing songwriters including Motown veteran William “Mickey” Stevenson, pop svengalis Maurice Starr and Mike Chapman, Allee Willis and others.

The Songwriters Hall class of 2017 included Chicago members Robert Lamm, James Pankow and Peter Cetera, Motown founder Berry Gordy, Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Max Martin and Jay-Z, who was the organization’s first rap inductee.


Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice.