Photo by Adam Bettcher/Getty Images

Mellencamp Receiving ASCAP Founders Award

John Mellencamp will have to clear more space on his mantle.

The singer-songwriter will be receiving the Founders Award at this year’s American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) Pop Music Awards.  The Founders Award goes to “pioneering ASCAP songwriters who have made exceptional contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators.”

In a statement ASCAP President Paul Williams said, “For the last four decades, John Mellencamp has captured the American experience in his songs His infectious melodies and compassionate lyrics, wrapped in workingman's rock, crystallize life's joys and struggles and illuminate the human condition. A national treasure, he's also one of the truly great music creators that can make us care, move, clap and sing along.”

Past ASCAP Founders Award winners include Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Billy Joel, Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley of KISS, Annie Lennox, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Tom Petty, Patti Smith, Steely Dan, Rod Stewart, James Taylor, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Tom Waits, Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart, Stevie Wonder and Neil Young.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock reporter who never leaves home without her iPod, because to her, there’s something very comforting about carrying around every piece of music she’s ever owned in her life.